Buid your machine tools

How to make your own machine tools (lathe, milling machine) and improve them according to needs and financial means. These pages are intended to provide methods of design and realization so everyone can adapt these technical capabilities. 
Of course the home made is not limited to lathes and milling machines, it is also possible to make an EDM machine for mechanics, machines for modelers (hot polystyrene cutting, router), well sure there are also 3D printers and some have even tried cutting or laser engraving.

Presentation

My current machine

The construction of machines is fastidious and requires patience and precision. You must begin by knowing what you are able to make with the material you have, there is no place for improvisation and it is better to build simple at begining then to improve what you have made. Never forget that once you finish your first machine, even if it seems a little simplistic, you now have to do better.
Here is the machine with which I am currently working, its realization is entirely personal, all metal. The engine is provided by a Peugeot engine block equipped with a two speeds gear box and an electronic variator. The chuck is purchased.

The construction of this machine is quite difficult but was very instructive, if it was to redo I will change some points to simplify.

Stepper motors allow the numerical control  of the 3 axis while keeping cranks for simple operations.

Brief history

At the risk of making purists startle, my first lathe was a manual drill mounted on a wooden frame in front of crossed carriages made of aluminum profiles. This does not seem very mechanical, but it is the starting point of a generation of three machines. So, tell yourself that nothing is impossible for a stubborn modeler.
The drill is a good start solution because any good handyman has one and so you have a motor, a chuck and even a speed variator. If you can, prefer a model without hammer because the axial backlash of the spindle is much less.
The results obtained with this tour surprised me so much (0.05mm diameters accuracy) that I decided to do better and especially stronger. 
 
From this observation was born the idea of ​​my second machine (stub lathe): 
The idea of the drill and the wooden base are preserved, however everything is changed at the level of the crossed carriages. The slides are made of steel "stub" which is sold already grinded and calibrated, it remains only to cut to length. Each carriage and the two slide supports are drilled together on a drill press paying particular attention to the parallelism of the two holes. Provide adjustment screws for the backlash. 
 
As for the displacement screws, the diameter M6 is essential because the pitch of 1mm is very useful.
The geometry is checked by machining a cylinder and then measuring the taper with a micrometric caliper, for the adjustments it is enough to trim the back of the drill and to twist it with the help of the lateral screws of the rear part of the frame ( see general picture). Do not expect miracles for long pieces, but for small steam engines this is enough. 
 
This second lathe allowed me to build the one I am currently using, including the bearing housings and the two-speed gearbox that make up the spindle this with the help of a special plate for larger parts (in french). 
 
So, convinced? 
For those who already want to embark on the adventure you can download the plans of my second machine. These are scanned plans that everyone can adapt according to the equipment they have.
See more
Cnc3Axes
3 axis CNC machine control software. Freeware for download on this site.
European Model Engineering
Site in which you will find plans for the realization of machines and tools, in particular a metal lathe.
EDM
Everything to build a pulsed current EDM machine. The site offers two books very well done on the subject.
Download
Stub lathe plans
Plans of my second tour in PDF format.
See more
Cnc3Axes
CNC controller software
European Model Engineering
Machine tools plans
EDM
All to build your own machine
Download
Stub lathe plans
my second lathe

Design

Before you start: the basics

A good metal machining machine must be rigid, you will reduce deformations and vibrations which improves accuracy and cutting performance. 
 
The technical choices will be adapted according to your specifications and of course your finances. If you think like me to turn your machine into CNC, it will be designed from the beginning to avoid unpleasant surprises. 
 
First and foremost, the right questions must be asked to establish a set of specifications: 
What do I want to machine ? 
What size do I need ? 
Do I need a lathe, a milling machine or both ? 
What level of performance do I need ? Speed, power, accuracy, etc ... 
What will be the rate of use ? This will evaluate the service life. 
What is my level of equipment for the conctruction ? 

Guideways

patin
Guideway and bearing block
douille
Linear ball bearing
écrou bille
Ball screw nut
One of the most important technical choices is the technology of axis guideways and their motion. 
 
Prismatic metal on metal guideway, linear ball bearings, preload bearing blocks? 
 
Iso screw drive, trapezoidal screw, ball screw? 
 
For each choice, the quality and the result will be different but the price too, hence the difficulty of choice. 
For example a 15mm bearing block costs alone about €30 (2018), and normally it takes 4 per axis, or already more than €350 for 3 axes.
For my machine I made the choice of 100% home made which imposes virtually metal-on-metal guides and iso screws for motion. 
This choice is the most economical and has a very good rigidity when everything is very well adjusted. This guidance technology is the one used on old industrial machines. 
Of course, today's CNCs use almost all preload roller blocks and guideways as well as preload nut ball screws, but it is out of reach of the hobbyist coin carrier.
With metal / metal slides, provide for long guide lengths, in practice respect a length / width ratio greater than 1.5. For the carriage of the column described the ratio is 2 (width = 60mm, length = 120mm). This rule avoids the phenomenon of jamming and decreases the defect of "lace" of the carriages, thus better precision of the guides. 
 
All carriages must be fitted with brass, bronze or PTFE (Teflon) plates to facilitate sliding. Some plates are equipped with adjustment screws to set up the backlash due to wear. 
 
The feed screws must be chosen with a judicious pitch, the ideal is to use threaded rods M6 because the pitch is 1mm, so with one crank turn, your carriage moves 1mm, add a graduated drum 40 divisions (easy to do with the help of a small spare gear) and you have a 0.025mm caliper.

My lathe spindle

My spindle is driven by a Peugeot drill engine block with two speeds gear box and an electronic dimmer. 
In order to have a better speed range and a good torque to the chuck, I added two other mechanical speeds and a toothed belt reduction, this gives a speed range of 120 to 4500rpm and allows me to take chip depth of more than 1mm in steel with a carbide tool. 
 
The schematic diagram shows the kinematic chain of the spindle and the bearing assemblies.

Drawing the plans

In order to be sure of the result, it is imperative to make serious plans before starting construction, whether these plans are drawn by hand or in CAD no matter, it is a matter of pratice. 
The plans of my machine are now very old and as they were traced by hand on large tracing paper, it is difficult for me to scan and diffuse them. 
That being the case, I started to modelise everything with 3D CAD, and as soon as they are finished I will put a STEP and a native format for download. 
If you do not have professional CAD tools like Solid Works or AutoCAD, there are free alternatives such as DrafSight (2D AutoCAD compliant) or FreeCAD (Solid 3D), the links are in the "see more" section.
See more
CNC Loisirs
French site on the hobbyist CNC home made, you will find everything you need to design and build a machine.
3D CAD FreeCAD
Free and open source software developed by a team of enthusiasts, it is not yet at the level of SolidWorks but is approaching from year to year.
2D CAD DraftSight
Free software compatible with AutoCAD distributed  by Dassault Systèmes, you just have to register.
Download
Stub lathe plans
Plans of my second tour in PDF format.
See more
CNC Loisirs
French DIY cnc machines
FreeCAD
3D CAD freeware open source
DraftSight
2D CAD AutoCAD compliant
Download
Stub lathe plans
my second lathe

Construction

Milling column

The design follows the previous rules. Everything is made from commercial stretched, A60 steel and brass. Its attachment to the back of the frame lathe was planned during the construction of it.
ALL ASSEMBLIES MUST BE PINNED, this ensures good repositioning during disassembly and avoids any movement of the parts, if necessary an epoxy bonding (Araldite) can perfect the whole. All mounting holes must be drill together for perfect alignment.
The carriage consists of an assembly of plates, all assembled by screws CHc and pinned. The first picture shows one side assembled and the other one still disassembled, you can notice the sliding plates in brass (make grooves to facilitate the lubrication).
The pictures show the parts then the assembled assembly and provided with the nut of advance (nut). The assembly of the guides must be done with the carriage positioned on the slide, so no adjustment problem, the pinning will be made after verification of all.
The screw is mounted on a bearing so that there is no backlash, the nut is in brass to limit friction (I consider PTFE but I have not tested). The crank is equipped with a graduated drum. This realization requires a turn, but if it is your first machine, you can do a much simpler editing with conventional nuts and no bearings (see my first machine tool), as soon as your turn is on, no problem to rework.

The milling spindle and its support

In the construction of any machine tool, the spindle is one of the most delicate points. If you already have a lathe, it is imperative to make a serious assembly with bearings mounted with a slight preload (assembly below and plan). If you do not have a machine, you have to brainstorm to use what you can find: small saw spindle (see DIY stores), drill, bike wheel hub etc ... All that is mounted on ball bearings without much backlash can be use. All ideas are good to take and feel free to share yours to improve these pages.
As mentioned above, if you build your first lathe (and you do not have that of a friend) the best spindle is that of a drill without hammer, you will have in addition the motor and the variator. 
The spindle support consists of an assembly of steel plates. The whole is screwed, pinned and glued with epoxy, it's all simply unbreakable.
This support is ready to receive the spindle then to be fixed on the carriage. All the geometry must be adjusted with a comparator using the various carriages to ensure the movements and measure on a square.
See more
CNC Loisirs
French site on the hobbyist CNC home made, you will find everything you need to design and build a machine.
Download
Stub lathe plans
Plans of my second tour in PDF format.
See more
CNC Loisirs
French DIY cnc machines
Download
Stub lathe plans
my second lathe

Numerization

The prototype

What model owner of a machine tool has never dreamed of switching to numerical control (CN for intimates). In fact, some surfing on the web shows that we are quite numerous to have this idea behind the head and even for some already in the workshop. 
 
You guessed it, I took the step and I offer some pictures of the prototype.
An overview of the machine for which only three stepper motors have been added while carefully preserving the original cranks. For me it is important to continue to work with manual control because it is absurd to think that all the parts justify to write a program. The machine is controlled by a PC from parallel port and a few electronic boards.
The mechanics remain very simple, for each axis a stepper motor is added between the screw and the crank. The assembly of the crank necessitated the modification of the rear of the steppers. The motors are attached to the screws with a flexible coupling to overcome the misalignment, against this coupling must be very rigid in torsion to not affect the accuracy.
The motors are 200 steps per turn drived in half-step which gives 400 steps per turn, with a screw pitch of 1mm each step gives an advance of 0.0025mm which allows a great smooth of movements and a very good accuracy (of the order of 0.01mm). The maximum feedrate is 200mm/min which is more than enough for our small machines.
The picture below shows the pre-wiring of the electronics from left to right: the interface boards with the PC, the power supply, the transformers, the three driver boards. 
 
The function of the interface boards is to use the signals from the parallel port, to manage the feedrate (programmable timer), to manage the end stops. Eventually I want to add a hand panel to facilitate manual controls during settings. 
Power is still common to all drivers, but experience shows that with a separate power supply for each axis, the performance is better. 
 
The stepper driver boards are based on the classic L297 and L298 which are easy to find components and offer a good price / performance ratio.
The last part of the puzzle is of course the control software. There are a number on the Internet, the CNC Loisirs site is a great help. Many of these softwares are originally developped for routers 2D 1/2, however Ninos has caught my attention because for an affordable price it seems to offer many possibilities (I have not tested it on a machine). 
 
As much for need as for pleasure, I chose to develop my own software named CncAxes, originally I foresaw only personal use, but in the end I understood that it would be a good idea  to do enjoy everyone, so it is provide as freeware. 

Futur developments

The evolution of computers and operating systems is increasingly limiting the use of the parallel port for our hobbies applications. Recent computers no longer have this printer port and systems from Windows 7 restrict direct access. Software like Cnc3Axes is therefore destined to disappear in favor of more advanced systems connected by USB or Ethernet. 
 
I explored various hypotheses to evolve my electronics / software by testing boards like IPL5X or GRBL on Arduino, but none met my expectations. 
 
To date, in 2018, the best-performing freeware management solution runs Linux with LinuxCNC, either on an old PC that still has a parallel port, or by adding specialized boards (MESA), or by using a Linux system embedded on a Rapsberry or Beaglebone single board computers. It is this last hypothesis that I chose for my future standalone CNC console with a Beaglebone Black board connected to a interface board and a 12 '' touch screen. 
This project is in progress and is the subject of a specific page on this site
See more
Cnc3Axes
3 axis CNC machine control software. Freeware for download on this site.
Linux CNC
Fully customizable, free and open source machine control environment on Linux. 
The top of hobby CNC control.
MachineKit
Based on LinuxCNC, Machinekit uses the same base but is adapted to ARM board systems such as the Beaglebone.
LinuxCNC Console
Design and build of a standalone control panel with touch screen and Beaglebone Black single board computer, runs with LinuxCNC.
See more
Cnc3Axes
CNC control software
Linux CNC
CNC customizable controller
MachineKit
Like LinuxCNC for embedded
LinuxCNC console
Standalone CNC controller
Made with OpenElement
Date mise à jour  
CARNETS JL-L
Technical hobbies
Carnets JLS
Top page

Construire ses machines outils

Comment fabriquer ses propres machines outils (tour, fraiseuse) et les perfectionner en fonction des besoins et des moyens financiers. Ces pages ont pour but de donner des méthodes de conception et de réalisation ainsi chacun pourra adapter ces techniques aux moyens dont il dispose.
Bien sûr la construction amateur ne se limite pas aux tours et fraiseuses, il est aussi possible de réaliser une machine d'électroérosion pour les mécaniciens, tout le panel de machines de découpage pour les modélistes (découpe polystyrène au fil chaud, routeur), bien sûr il y a aussi les imprimantes 3D et certains se sont même essayés à la découpe ou gravure laser.

Présentation

Ma machine actuelle

La construction de machines est délicate et demande patience et précision. Il faut commencer par bien connaître ce que l'on est capable de réaliser avec le matériel dont on dispose, il n'y a pas de place pour l'improvisation et il est préférable de construire simple pour commencer puis de faire évoluer ses réalisations. N'oubliez jamais que dès que vous aurez terminé votre première machine, même si elle vous paraît un peu simpliste, vous en disposez maintenant pour faire mieux.
Voici le combiné avec lequel je travaille actuellement, sa réalisation est entièrement personnelle, tout en métal.  La motorisation est assurée par un bloc moteur Peugeot équipé de deux vitesses mécaniques et d'un variateur électronique. Le mandrin trois mors est acheté dans le commerce. 
 
La construction de cette machine est assez difficile mais a été très enrichissante, si c'était à refaire je modifirai certains points pour simplifier.

Des moteurs pas à pas permettent la numérisation des 3 axes tout en gardant les manivelles pour les opérations simples.

Bref historique

Au risque de faire sursauter les puristes, mon premier tour n'était qu'une perceuse de bricolage montée sur un berceau en bois devant des chariots croisés en profilé d'aluminium. Cela ne semble pas très mécanique, mais il est le point de départ d'une génération de trois machines. Alors, dites vous que rien n'est impossible pour un modéliste obstiné.
La perceuse est une bonne solution de début car tout bon bricoleur en possède une et ainsi vous disposez d'un moteur, d'un mandrin et même d'un variateur de vitesse. Si vous le pouvez, préférez un modèle sans percussion car le jeu axial de la broche est bien moindre.
Les résultats obtenus avec ce tour m'ont tellement surpris (possibilité de tourner des diamètres à 0,05mm près) que j'ai décidé de faire mieux et surtout plus solide.
 
De ce constat est née l'idée de ma deuxième machine (tour stub) : 
Les principes de la perceuse et du socle en bois sont conservés, par contre tout est changé au niveau des chariots croisés. Les glissières sont en acier "stub" qui est vendu déjà rectifié et calibré, il ne reste qu'à couper à longueur. Chaque chariot ainsi que les deux supports de glissières sont percés ensembles sur une perceuse à colonne en faisant très attention au parallélisme des deux trous. Prévoir des vis de réglage pour les jeux.

Pour ce qui est des vis de déplacement, le diamètre M6 s'impose car le pas de 1mm est très pratique. 
La géométrie est vérifiée en usinant un cylindre puis en mesurant la conicité au pied à coulisse, pour les réglages il suffit de caler l'arrière de la perceuse et de l'orienter à l'aide des vis latérales de la partie arrière du berceau (voir photo d'ensemble). Il ne faut pas espérer des miracles pour des pièces longues, mais pour des petits moteurs à vapeur cela suffit.

Ce deuxième tour m'a permis de construire celui que j'utilise actuellement, y compris les boîtiers de roulements et la boîte à deux vitesses qui composent la broche ceci avec l'aide d'un plateau spécial pour les grandes pièces.

Alors, convaincu ?
Pour ceux qui veulent déjà se lancer dans l'aventure vous pouvez télécharger les plans de ma deuxième machine. Il s'agit de plans scannés que chacun pourra adapter en fonction du matériel dont il dispose.
En voir plus
Cnc3Axes
Logiciel de pilotage de machine CNC 3 axes. Freeware en téléchargement sur ce site.
European Model Engineering
Site dans lequel vous trouverez des plans pour la réalisation de machines et d'outillages, en particulier un tour à métaux.
Electroérosion
Tout pour construire une machine d'électroérosion (EDM) à courant pulsé. Le site est en anglais et propose deux livres très bien faits sur le sujet.
Télécharger
Plans tour stub
Plans de mon deuxième tour en format PDF.
En voir plus
Cnc3Axes
Logiciel de pilotage CNC
European Model Engineering
Plans de machines et outils
Electroérosion
Tout pour réaliser sa propre machine
Télécharger
Plans tour stub
mon deuxième tour

Conception

Avant de commencer : les bases

Une bonne machine d'usinage des métaux doit être rigide, vous diminuerez les déformations et les vibrations ce qui améliore la précision et les performances de coupe.

Les choix techniques seront à adapter en fonction de votre cahier des charges et bien sûr de vos finances. Si vous envisagez comme moi de numériser votre machine, il faudra le prévoir dès le début de la conception afin d'éviter les mauvaises surprises.

En tout premier lieu il faut se poser les bonnes questions pour établir un cahier des charges :
Qu'est que je veux usiner ?
De quelle dimension j'ai besoin ?
Est-ce que j'ai besoin d'un tour, d'une fraiseuse ou des deux ?
De quel niveau de performance j'ai besoin ? Vitesse, puissance, précision, etc...
Quel sera le taux d'utilisation ? Cela permettra d'évaluer la durée de vie.
Quel est mon niveau d'équipement pour la réalisation ?

Les guidages

patin
Rail et patin à billes
douille
Douille à billes
écrou bille
Ecrou à billes
L'un des choix techniques les plus importants est la technologie des guidages d'axes et de leur entrainement.

Guidage prismatique métal sur métal, douilles à billes et rails, patins à billes précontraints ?

Entraînement par vis iso, vis trapézoidale, vis à billes ?

Pour chaque choix, la qualité et le résultat seront différents mais le prix aussi, d'où la difficulté des choix.
Par exemple un patin à bille de 15mm coûte à lui seul environ 30€(2018), et normalement il en faut 4 par axe, soit déjà plus de 350€ pour 3 axes.
Pour ma machine j'ai fais le choix du 100% "home made" ce qui impose pratiquement les guidages métal sur métal et des vis iso pour l'entraînement.
Ce choix est le plus économique et présente une très bonne rigidité quand tout est très bien ajusté. Cette technologie de guidage est celle utilisée sur les anciennes machines industrielles.
Bien sûr les CNC actuelles utilisent presque toutes des patins à rouleaux précontraints ainsi que des vis à billes à écrous précontraints, mais c'est hors de portée du porte monaie d'amateur. 
Avec des glissières métal/métal, prévoir des longueurs de guidage importantes, en pratique respectez un rapport longueur/largeur supérieur à 1,5. Pour le chariot de la colonne décrite le rapport est de 2 (largeur = 60mm, longueur = 120mm). Cette règle évite le phénomène d'arc-boutement (effet "serre joint") et diminue le défaut de "lacet" des chariots, donc meilleur précision des guidages. 
 
Tous les chariots doivent être munis de patins en laiton, bronze ou PTFE (téflon) pour faciliter le glissement. Certains patins sont munis de vis de réglage pour rattraper les jeux dus à l'usure. 
 
Les vis d'avance doivent être choisies avec un pas judicieux, l'idéal est d'utiliser des tiges filetées M6 car le pas est de 1mm, ainsi avec un tour de manivelle votre chariot se déplace de 1mm, rajoutez un tambour gradué de 40 divisions (facile à faire en s'aidant d'un petit engrenage de récupération) et vous avez un vernier à 0,025mm.

La broche de mon tour

Ma broche de tour est entrainée par un ancien bloc moteur Peugeot avec deux vitesses mécaniques et un variateur électronique.
Afin de disposer d'une meilleure plage de vitesse et un bon couple au mandrin, j'ai ajouté deux autres vitesses mécaniques et une réduction par courroie crantée, cela donne une plage de vitesse de 120 à 4500tr/min et me permet de prendre des passes de plus de 1mm dans l'acier avec un outil carbure.

Le schéma de principe montre la chaîne cinématique de la broche ainsi que les montages de roulements.

Réalisation des plans

Afin d'être certain du résultat, il est impératif de faire des plans sérieux avant de commencer la construction, que ces plans soient tracés à la main ou en CAO peu importe, c'est une question d'habitude.
Les plans de ma machine sont maintenant très anciens et comme ils ont été tracés à la main sur calque grand format, il m'est difficile de les scanner pour les diffuser.
Cela étant j'ai entrepris de tout modéliser en 3D en CAO, et dès qu'ils seront terminés je mettrai un STEP et un format natif en téléchargement.
Si vous ne disposez pas d'outils CAO professionnels commeSolid Works ou AutoCAD, il existe des alternatives gratuites telles que DrafSight (2D compatible AutoCAD) ou FreeCAD (3D solide), les liens sont dans la rubrique "en voir plus".
En voir plus
CNC Loisirs
Site sur les CNC amateur, vous y trouverez tout ce qu'il faut pour concevoir et réaliser une machine.
CAO 3D FreeCAD
Logiciel gratuit et open source développé par une équipe de passionnés, il n'est pas encore au niveau de SolidWorks mais s'en rapproche d'année en année.
CAO 2D DraftSight
Logiciel gratuit compatible avec AutoCAD diffusé gratuitement par Dassault Systèmes, il faut juste s'enregistrer.
Télécharger
Plan tour stub
Plans de mon deuxième tour en format PDF.
En voir plus
CNC Loisirs
Réalisation de CNC amateur
FreeCAD
Logiciel de CAO 3D gratuit et open source
DraftSight
Logiciel de CAO 2D gratuit compatible AutoCAD
Télécharger
Plans tour stub
mon deuxième tour

Construction

La colonne de fraisage

La conception reprend les règles précédentes. Tout est fabriqué à partir d'étirés du commerce, acier A60 et laiton. Sa fixation à l'arrière du tour avait été prévue lors de la construction de ce dernier. 
TOUS LES ASSEMBLAGES DOIVENT ETRE GOUPILLES, cela assure le bon repositionnement lors des démontages et évite tout déplacement des pièces, si nécessaire un collage à l'époxyde (Araldite) peut parfaire le tout. Tous les trous de fixation doivent être contrepercés ensembles pour obtenir un alignement parfait.
Le chariot est composé d'un assemblage de barres d'étiré, le tout assemblé par des vis CHc et goupillé. La première photo montre un coté assemblé et l'autre encore démonté, vous pouvez remarquer les plaques de glissement en laiton (faire des rainures pour faciliter le graissage). 
Les photos montrent les pièces puis l'ensemble monté et muni de l'écrou d'avance (noix). L'assemblage des guidages doit se faire avec le chariot positionné sur la glissière, ainsi pas de problème d'ajustage, les piètages ne seront faits qu'après vérification de l'ensemble.
La vis est montée sur un roulement afin qu'il n'y ait pas de jeu, l'écrou est en laiton pour limiter le frottement (j'envisage le PTFE mais je n'ai pas testé). La manivelle est munie d'un tambour gradué. Cette réalisation nécessite un tour, mais si c'est votre première machine, vous pouvez faire un montage bien plus simple avec des écrous classiques et sans roulements (voir mes premières machines), dès que votre tour sera en fonction, plus de problème pour refaire.

La broche de fraisage et son support

Dans la réalisation de toute machine outil, la broche est l'un des points les plus délicats. Si vous êtes déjà équipé d'un tour, il est impératif de faire un montage sérieux avec des roulements montés avec une légère précontrainte (montage ci-dessous et plan). Si vous ne disposez pas de machine, il faut faire travailler son imagination pour utiliser ce que l'on peut trouver : petit arbre de scie (voir les magasins de bricolage), perceuse, moyeu de roue de vélo etc... Tout ce qui est monté sur roulement sans trop de jeu peut servir. Toutes les idées sont bonnes à prendre et n'hésitez pas à me faire part des votres pour enrichir ces pages.
Comme cité plus haut, si vous construisez votre premier tour (et que vous ne disposez pas de celui d'un ami) la meilleur broche est celle d'une perceuse sans percussion, vous aurez en plus le moteur et le variateur.
Le support de broche est constitué d'un assemblage de plaques d'étiré. L'ensemble est vissé, piété et collé à l'epoxy, c'est tous simplement indestructible.
Ce support est prêt à recevoir la broche puis à être fixé sur le chariot. Toute la géométrie doit être réglée avec un comparateur en se servant des différents chariots pour assurer les déplacements et en palpant sur une équerre.
En voir plus
CNC Loisirs
Site sur les CNC amateur, vous y trouverez tout ce qu'il faut pour concevoir et réaliser une machine.
Télécharger
Plan tour stub
Plans de mon deuxième tour en format PDF.
En voir plus
CNC Loisirs
Réalisation de CNC amateur
Télécharger
Plans tour stub
mon deuxième tour

Numérisation

Le prototype

Quel modéliste possesseur d'une machine outil n'a jamais rêvé de passer à la commande numérique (CN pour les intimes). En fait, un peu de surf sur le web montre que nous sommes assez nombreux à avoir cette idée derrière la tête et même pour certains déjà dans l'atelier.

Vous l'avez deviné, j'ai franchi le pas et je vous propose quelques photos du prototype.
Une vue d'ensemble de la machine pour laquelle seuls trois moteurs pas à pas ont été rajoutés tout en conservant précieusement les manivelles d'origine. Pour moi il est important de pouvoir continuer à travailler en manuel car il est aberrant de penser que toutes les pièces justifient de faire un programme. La machine est pilotée par un PC via le port parallèle et quelques cartes électroniques.
La mécanique reste très simple, pour chaque axe un moteur pas à pas est ajouté entre la vis et la manivelle. Le montage de cette dernière a nécessité la modification de l'arrière des moteurs. Les moteurs sont accouplés aux vis par l'intermédiaire d'un manchon déformable pour pallier les défauts d'alignement, par contre ce manchon doit être très rigide en torsion pour ne pas nuire à la précision.
Les moteurs sont des 200 pas par tour pilotés en demi-pas ce qui donne 400 pas par tour, avec une vis au pas de 1mm chaque pas moteur donne une avance de 0.0025mm ce qui permet une grande souplesse des mouvements ainsi qu'une très bonne précision (de l'ordre de 0.01mm). La vitesse maxi de déplacement est de 200mm/mn ce qui est amplement suffisant pour nos petites machines.
La photo ci-dessous montre le pré-câblage de l'électronique avec de gauche à droite : les cartes d'interfaces avec le PC, l'alimentation, les transformateurs, les trois cartes de puissance. 
 
Les cartes interfaces ont pour fonction d'exploiter les signaux issus du port parallèle, de gérer les vitesses d'avance (timer programmable), de gérer les butées de fin de course. A terme je désire ajouter un boîtier pour faciliter les commandes manuelles lors des réglages.
L'alimentation est encore commune à toutes les cartes, mais l'expérience montre qu'il faut une alimentation séparée pour chaque axe, les performances sont meilleures. 
 
Les cartes de puissance des moteurs sont basées sur le couple classique L297 et L298 qui sont des composants faciles à trouver et qui offrent un bon rapport performance/prix.
La dernière pièce du puzzle, c'est bien sûr le logiciel de commande. Il en existe un certain nombre sur Internet, le site CNC Loisirs est d'un grand secours. Beaucoup de ces logiciels sont prévus à l'origine pour faire de la découpe de gabarits en 2D 1/2, toutefois Ninos a retenu mon attention car pour un prix abordable il semble offrir de nombreuses possibilités (je ne l'ai pas testé sur une machine).

Autant par besoin que par plaisir, j'ai choisi de développer mon propre logiciel nommé CncAxes, à l'origine je n'en prévoyais qu'une utilisation personnelle, mais au final j'ai compris qu'il serait bien d'en faire profiter tout le monde, il est donc diffusé en freeware.

Développements futurs

L'évolution des ordinateurs et des systèmes d'exploitation limitent de plus en plus l'utilisation du port parallèle pour nos applications amateurs. Les ordinateurs récents n'ont d'ailleurs plus ce port d'imprimante et les systèmes à partir de Windows 7 en bloquent l'accès direct. Les logiciels comme Cnc3Axes sont donc voués à disparaitre au profit de systèmes plus évolués connectés par USB ou Ethernet.

J'ai exploré diverses hypothèses pour faire évoluer mon ensemble électronique / logiciel en testant des cartes comme IPL5X ou GRBL sur Arduino, mais aucun n'a comblé mes attentes.

A ce jour, en 2018, la solution gratuite de pilotage la plus performante passe par Linux avec LinuxCNC, soit sur un ancien PC disposant encore d'un port parallèle, soit par l'ajout de cartes spécialisées (MESA), soit en passant carrément par un système Linux embarqué sur une carte type Rapsberry ou Beaglebone. C'est cette dernière hypothèse que j'ai choisi pour mon futur pupitre CNC autonome basé sur une carte Beaglebone Black connectée à une carte interface maison et à un écran tactile 12''.
Ce projet est en cours et fait l'objet d'une page spécifique sur ce site.
En voir plus
Cnc3Axes
Logiciel de piloatge de machine CNC 3 axes. Freeware en téléchargement sur ce site.
Linux CNC
Environnement de pilotage de machines entièrement paramétrable, gratuit et open source sous Linux.
Le top du pilotage CNC amateur.
MachineKit
Dérivé de Linux CNC, Machinekit reprend la même base mais est adapté aux systèmes embarqués sur cartes ARM comme la Beaglebone.
Pupitre LinuxCNC
Fabrication d'un pupitre de commande autonome avec écran tactile et ordinateur mono carte Beaglebone Black, le tout orchestré par LinuxCNC.
En voir plus
Cnc3Axes
Logiciel de pilotage CNC
Linux CNC
Pilotage de machine CNC sous linux
MachineKit
Pilotage de machine CNC sous Linux embarqué
Pupitre LinuxCNC
LinuxCNC embarqué sur Beaglebone
Site réalisé avec OpenElement
Date mise à jour  
CARNETS JL-L
Loisirs techniques
Carnets JLS
Top page