Twin cylinder JLS-13-2

Plans and fabrications of a two-cylinder model double-effect steam engine in brass and bronze. Construction techniques are explained and illustrated in order to be accessible to all.

Description and engine plans

The plans

The plans presented below are at your disposal for consultation or free copy. The package referenced MV relates to the double stroke twin cylinder whose construction will be described in these pages, the plan RG-001 gives the assembly and the details of a gas supply regulator for boiler burner, this regulator controls the transition from idle to full power depending on the steam pressure (ideal for safety and water and gas savings). 
 
If you download the plans, it would be nice to give me your opinion through the contact form.
assembly
cylinder block
frame
steam box
piping
slide
distribution
connecting rods
crankshaft
gas regulator
You can also download all plans package zipped.
WARNING 
These plans are FREE and can not be sold, despite that someones with less honesty allow themselves to resell them, this type of behavior risks to make disappear the sites of free diffusion. Indeed why spend copel of hours to design for those who do nothing but want to make money !
To understand how this type of steam engine works, a websurfer had the good idea to create a video animation and send it to me. 
You can see the different moving parts and especially how the crankshaft and distribution with plan slider works.

Link to the video.
To date, several websurfers have built the JLS-13-2, among them Frédéric Baumann had the good idea to upload a video on Youtube with a digital simulation of the kinematics, but also its engine completed running. Stephenson's distribution principle is clearly visible.

Many thanks again Frédéric.

Link to the Youtube video
Gergö Kriss a Hungarian websurfer has also built the JLS-13-2, after 1 year of efforts he has achieved a superb engine. 
 
He also had the kindness to send me the link to a Youtube video and you can also enjoy the show. 
 
This video is not the only one and I urge you to visit the Gergö Kriss Youtube channel where you will find other videos of the JLS-13-2 on test bench but also mounted in a boat in navigation.
Now that you have all the information on the JLS-13-2 engine, so we can go to the workshop ...
Download
JLS-13-2 plans
Download the package of PDF plans.
See more
Steam engines
The other steam engines presented on this site.
Machine tools
How to build your own machines to machine metals, to see on this site.
machines
MV Simul
Steam engine simulation software, a freeware available on this site.
JP Duval blog
Many plans to download.
Gergö Kriss Youtube
The Youtube channel of Gergö Kriss, one of the many Net surfers to have built the JLS-13-2.
Frédéric Baumann blog
The site of Frédéric Baumann, one of the first builders of the JLS-13-2.
Download
JLS-13-2 plans
All plans PDF format
See more
Steam engines
The other steam engines in this site
Machine tools
Home made machine tools
MV Simul
Steam engine simulator software
JP Duval blog
Many plans to download
Gergö Kriss
Youtube channel with JLS-13-2 videos
Frédéric Baumann blog
One of the first JLS-13-2 constructors

What to build a steam engine

The materials

The materials used for this engine are: brass, bronze, steel (stainless steel if possible) and copper. You will find them in plates and sheets of different thicknesses as well as bars of different sections (tube, square, round, hexagonal, flat). To provide you, several solutions: the mail order (to be used in the last limit because relatively expensive), DIY superstores and industrial supply stores (some sell to individuals, it is necessary to inquire). 
 
Do not forget the screws that is not easy to find in these small dimensions (I get myself at Octant french supplier). 

Basic tools

Small tools are essential you will have to trace, measure, saw, file, drill, tap and so on. Do not hesitate to buy quality for cutting tools (saws, files, drills, taps, dies, mills, etc ...) because you will have more ease to obtain good results. Regarding the control tools (caliper) of medium-range is sufficient because you will often work by comparison between the parts to be assembled. Most of these tools are found in DIY superstores or web suppliers. 
 
With experience you will not hesitate to make your own tools (see the small truscan and the divider plate on the pictures) because often the specialized equipment of the trade is a bit big for us and especially very expensive.
Important point, many engine parts are assembled by silver solder, so it will be essential to have a correct torch. For the moment, it is useless to invest in an oxygen / acetylene unit, it is the top technically but also financially. Personally for the majority of solders, I use a butane / propane mixing lamp that is more efficient than pure butane lamps, when the parts are bigger (boilers) I go to the butane torch (bottle of 13kg). When soldering, the one you find in supermarkets DIY is perfect (solder silver 5% and 40%) but do not forget the flow adapted to your metals.
chalumeau 1
chalumeau 2
chalumeau 3

Finally, the bigger parts...  machine tools

perçeuse
A small bench press drill can do very good work (or a drill mounted on a support will do). 
 
If you decide to buy a drill press check that it is rigid and does not present excessive backlatch in the guides (it is the death of small drills), beware of "made in China" cheap, but often too expensive for what it is. Also check that the chuck can take 0.5mm drills because this is not always the case. For a correct machine it takes about 150 to 400 € (2018).
A lathe is almost essential to carry out such a construction, there the investment is quite different (minimum 1000 € but count rather 2500 €). Minimum equipment will be between 250 to 350mm part length, a machinable diameter of 100 to 150mm, several spindle speeds. The box of advances and threading is not essential as well as the orientable carriage (tape turning) but it is a plus. The ideal is a combined milling lathe as presented in the photo (3000 € in 2018). 
 
In our application the milling column is not essential because all the milling that you find on the plans of the twin-cylinder are achievable by placing a milling cutter in the chuck of the lathe and fixing the piece on the trolley, it is DIY, but it works.
combiné
Another solution is to make your own machine, the operation is very fun technically (financially a little less). The picture on the left shows what I made, it was preceded by two other machines less powerful but which allowed me to manufacture it. In the background, you can distinguish an adaptation for milling. The engine is provided by a Peugeot engine block equipped with two mechanical speeds and an electronic variator. The chuck is purchased commercially. 
Of course it is also possible to manufacture a CNC machine that will allow more complex machining.

To read more, you can go to the page : 
BUILD YOUR MACHINE TOOLS.
Download
JLS-13-2 plans
Download the package of PDF plans.
See more
Steam engines
The other steam engines presented on this site.
Machine tools
How to build your own machines to machine metals, to see on this site.
Suppliers
Otelo
Tools and machine tools, correct prices and perfect service.
L'Octant
Small tools, materials and screws for model makers.
Download
JLS-13-2 plans
PDF drawings
See more
Steam engines
The other engines in this site
Machine tools
Home made machine tools
Suppliers
Otelo
Tools and machines
L'Octant
Tools and model makers material

Building technics

Machining

As all the parts are machining, it is important to be able the use of a metal lathe. The use of a milling machine is not essential because parts can be hand made with a file, but it is easier with a mill. 
 
The JLS-13-2 is not a beginer engine, so as not to start on a construction project that would not be completed, I advise you to start with the part that you find the most difficult in according to your experience. 
 
For the machining techniques, you can go to the website of Daniel Brouard who made a clone of the JLS-13-2 and had the good idea of ​​everything presented in picture, it's from great art to not miss (menu item "atelier" then "bi-cylindre"). 

How to build complex parts

In order to make the different complex parts without foundry or to a complete machining in the stock, I chose to make some parts by assembly of simpler shapes easy to pre-machined in plate or round material. All elements are then assembled by strong brazing (silver solder) to form parts very close to old-fashioned casting parts. 
 
This is the case for the slides, the cylinder and the crankshaft. 
animation glisière
The small animation shows well how is constituted a slide.
All the parts constituting a slideway with the elements of the braze tooling. 
The grooves on the base and the mounting ring help to align the ribs and feet. 
On the second picture, a slide ready to solder on its tools, and the result after sand blasting. 
Note that to machine the rounded part of the two slide feet, it is advisable to use a lathe with a small assembly toll to position the two parts together. To make it simple, the pieces are soldered with tin on the assembly, after machining it will be enough to heat to separate them. Simple and effective in many cases.
The machining and assembly technic is the same for cylinder blocks. Of course it is also necessary to provide a small mounting tool, so that all parts remain in position during heating and soldering. As for the slides, a single axis with two screws and washers will be ideal.
Another tip for the construction can be illustrated by the steam boxes covers. These parts are etched chemically with the same technique as for etching printed circuits boards. The patterns can be applied with transfers, or better by UV lights, in this case it is necessary to print the patterns on a transparency and spray a photosensitiv resin on the plates (Positiv 20 for example). Etching is done with iron perchloride.
The following for soon ...
Download
JLS-13-2 plans
Download the package of PDF plans.
See more
Steam engines
The other steam engines presented on this site.
Machine tools
How to build your own machines to machine metals, to see on this site.
machines
Daniel Brouard
The personal website of Daniel, which reveals all his machining technics, not to be missed.
Download
JLS-13-2 plans
PDF drawings
See more
Steam engines
The other engines in this site
Machine tools
Home made machine tools
Daniel Brouard
How to build an engine
Made with OpenElement
Date mise à jour  
CARNETS JL-L
Technical hobbies
Carnets JLS
Top page

Bicylindre JLS-13-2

Plans et fabrications d'un moteur à vapeur bi-cylindre double effet modèle réduit en laiton et bronze. Les techniques de construction sont expliquées et illustrées afin d'être accessibles à tous.

Description et plans du moteur

Les plans

Les plans présentés ci-dessous sont à votre disposition pour consultation ou copie gratuite. La liasse référencée MV concerne le bi-cylindre double effet dont la construction sera décrite dans ces pages, le plan RG-001 donne l'ensemble et les détails d'un régulateur d'alimentation en gaz pour brûleur de chaudière, ce régulateur contrôle le passage du ralenti à la pleine puissance en fonction de la pression de la vapeur (idéal pour la sécurité et les économies d'eau et de gaz).

Si vous téléchargez les plans, il serait sympa de me donner votre avis grâce au formulaire de contact.
ensemble
bloc cylindre
bâti
boite vapeur
tuyauteries
glissière
distribution
embiellage
ligne d'arbre
régulateur gaz
Vous pouvez aussi télécharger la liasse complête en zip.
AVERTISSEMENT  
Ces plans sont GRATUITS et ne peuvent pas être revendus, malgré cela quelques internautes à l'honnêteté douteuse se permettent de les revendre, ce type de comportement risque de faire disparaitre les sites de diffusion gratuite. En effet à quoi bon passer des dizaines d'heures d'études au profit de ceux qui ne font rien mais veulent en tirer de l'argent !

Pour bien comprendre le fonctionnement de ce type de moteur à vapeur, un internaute a eu la bonne idée de créer une animation vidéo et de me l'envoyer.
Vous pouvez voir les différentes pièces en mouvement et surtout comment fonctionne l'embiellage et la distribution par tiroir plan.

Lien vers la vidéo.
A ce jour, plusieurs internautes ont réalisé le JLS-13-2, parmi eux Frédéric Baumann a eu la bonne idée de mettre une vidéo sur Youtube avec une simulation numérique de la cinématique, mais aussi son moteur terminé en fonctionnement. Le principe d'inversion de marche par les coulisses de Stephenson est bien visible.

Encore merci à toi Frédéric.

Lien vers la vidéo Youtube
Gergö Kriss un internaute Hongrois a lui aussi construit le JLS-13-2, après 1 an d'efforts il a obtenu un superbe résultat.

Il a eu lui aussi l'amabilité de me transmettre le lien vers une vidéo Youtube et vous pourrez vous aussi profiter du spectacle.

Cette vidéo n'est pas la seule et je vous incite à aller visiter la chaîne Youtube de Gergö Kriss ou vous trouverez d'autres vidéos du JLS-13-2 en tests sur table mais aussi monté dans une chaloupe en navigation.
Maintenant que vous disposez de toutes les informations sur le moteur JLS-13-2, rendez-vous à l'atelier...
Télécharger
Plans JLS-13-2
Télécharger la liasse de plans PDF.
En voir plus
Moteurs à vapeur
Les autres moteurs à vapeur présentés sur ce site.
Machines outils
Comment construire soi-même ses machines pour usiner les métaux, à voir sur ce site.
machines
MV Simul
Petit logiciel de simulation d'un moteur à vapeur, un freeware disponible sur ce site.
Site JP Duval
De nombreux plans à télécharger.
Gergö Kriss Youtube
La chaîne Youtube de Gergö Kriss, l'un des nombreux internautes a avoir construit le JLS-13-2.
Site Frédéric Baumann
Le site de Frédéric Baumann, l'un des premiers constructeurs du JLS-13-2.
Télécharger
Plans du JLS-13-2
Liasse de plans PDF 
En voir plus
Moteurs à vapeur
Les autres moteurs du site
Machines outils
Construire ses machines outils
MV Simul
Logiciel de simulation d'un moteur à vapeur
Site JP Duval
Nombreux plans à télécharger
Gergö Kriss
Chaîne Youtube avec des vidéos du JLS-13-2
Site Frédéric Baumann
L'un des premiers constructeurs du JLS-13-2

Avec quoi fabriquer un moteur

Les matériaux

Les matériaux utilisés pour ce moteur sont : le laiton, le bronze, l'acier (inox si possible) et le cuivre. Vous les trouverez en plaques et tôles de différentes épaisseurs ainsi qu'en barres de différentes sections (tube, carré, rond, hexagonal, plat). Pour vous fournir, plusieurs solutions : la vente par correspondance (à utiliser en dernière limite car relativement cher), les grandes surfaces de bricolage et les magasins de fournitures industrielles (certains vendent aux particuliers, il faut se renseigner). 
 
Ne pas oublier la visserie qui n'est pas des plus facile à trouver dans ces petites dimensions (je me fournis chez l'Octant).

L'outillage de base

Le petit outillage est indispensable vous allez devoir tracer, mesurer, scier, limer, percer, tarauder et j'en passe. N'hésitez pas à acheter de la qualité pour ce qui est des outils de coupe (scies, limes, forets, tarauds, filières, fraises, etc...) car vous aurez plus de facilité pour obtenir de bons résultats. Concernant les outils de contrôle (pied à coulisse) du matériel de moyenne gamme est suffisant car vous allez souvent travailler par comparaison entre les pièces à assembler. La plupart de ces outils se trouvent en grandes surfaces de bricolage. 
 
Avec l'expérience vous n'hésiterez plus à fabriquer vos propres outils (voir le petit trusquin et le plateau diviseur sur les photos) car souvent le matériel spécialisé du commerce est un peu gros pour nous et surtout très cher.
Point important, beaucoup de pièces du moteur sont assemblées par brasure à l'argent, il sera donc indispensable de s'équiper d'un chalumeau correct. Pour l'instant, inutile d'investir dans un ensemble oxygène/acétylène, c'est le top techniquement mais aussi financièrement. Personnellement pour la majorité des brasures, j'utilise une lampe à cartouche mélange butane/propane qui est plus performante que les lampes au butane pur, quand les pièces sont plus grosses (chaudières) je passe à la torche butane (bouteille de 13kg). Quand à la brasure, celle que vous trouverez en grande surface de bricolage est parfaite (brasure argent à 5% et à 40%) mais n'oubliez pas le flux adapté à vos baguettes (même rayon).
chalumeau 1
chalumeau 2
chalumeau 3

Enfin, le gros morceau...  Les machines outils

perçeuse
Une petite perceuse à colonne d'établi permet de faire du très bon travail (à défaut, une perceuse montée sur un support fera l'affaire). 
 
Si vous décidez d'acheter une perceuse à colonne vérifiez bien qu'elle est rigide et ne présente pas un jeu excessif dans les guidages (c'est la mort des petits forets), méfiez vous des "made in China" pas cher, mais souvent trop cher pour ce que c'est. Vérifiez aussi que le mandrin permet de serrer jusqu'à 0,5mm car ce n'est pas toujours le cas. Pour une machine correcte il faut compter environ 150 à 400€ (2018).
Un tour est quasi indispensable pour mener à bien une telle construction, là l'investissement est tout autre (minimum 1000€ mais comptez plutôt 2500€). Un équipement minimum aura un entre pointes de 250 à 350mm, un diamètre usinable de 100 à 150mm, plusieurs vitesses de broche. La boîte d'avances et de filetage n'est pas indispensable de même que le chariot orientable (tournage des cônes) mais c'est un plus. L'idéal est un combiné tour fraisage tel que présente la photo (3000€ en 2018). 
 
Dans notre application la colonne de fraisage n'est pas indispensable car tous les fraisages que vous trouvez sur les plans du bicylindre sont réalisables en plaçant une fraise dans le mandrin du tour et en fixant la pièce sur le chariot, c'est du bricolage, mais ça fonctionne.
combiné
Une autre solution consiste à réaliser soi même sa propre machine, l'opération est très enrichissante techniquement (financièrement un peu moins). La photo de gauche montre cette réalisation, elle a été précédée de deux autres machines moins performantes mais qui m'ont permis de fabriquer celle-ci. En arrière plan, vous pouvez distinguer une adaptation pour le fraisage. La motorisation est assurée par un bloc moteur Peugeot équipé de deux vitesses mécaniques et d'un variateur électronique. Le mandrin trois mors est acheté dans le commerce.
Bien sûr il est aussi possible de fabriquer une machine CNC qui  permettra des usinages plus complexes.
 
Pour en savoir plus, aller sur la page : 
CONSTRUIRE SES MACHINES OUTILS.
Télécharger
Plans JLS-13-2
Télécharger la liasse de plans PDF.
En voir plus
Moteurs à vapeur
Les autres moteurs à vapeur présentés sur ce site.
Machines outils
Comment construire soi-même ses machines pour usiner les métaux, à voir sur ce site.
Fournisseurs
Otelo
Outillage et machines outils, prix corrects et service parfait.
L'Octant
Petit outillage, matériaux et visserie à usage des modélistes.
Télécharger
Plans du JLS-13-2
Liasse de plans PDF 
En voir plus
Moteurs à vapeur
Les autres moteurs du site
Machines outils
Construire ses machines outils
Fournisseurs
Otelo
Outillage, machines outils
L'Octant
Outillage, matériaux et mini-visserie

Technique de fabrication

Usinage

L'ensemble des pièces étant réalisées par usinage, il est important de bien maîtriser l'utilisation d'un tour à métaux. L'ustilisation d'une fraiseuse n'est pas indispensable à condition de maîtriser les techniques d'ajustage à la lime.

Le JLS-13-2 n'étant pas un moteur de début, afin de ne pas se lancer dans un projet de construction qui n'ariverait pas à son terme, je vous conseille de commencer par la pièce que vous jugerez la plus difficile en fonction de votre expérience.

Pour ce qui est des techniques d'usinage, vous pouvez aller sur le site de Daniel Brouard qui a réalisé un clône du JLS-13-2 et a eu la bonne idée de tout présenté en photos, c'est du grand art à ne pas manquer (rubrique menu "atelier" puis "bicylindre").

Réalisation des pièces complexes

Afin de réaliser les différentes pièces complexes sans avoir recours à la fonderie ou à un usinage complet dans la masse, j'ai choisi de faire certaines pièces par assemblage de formes plus simples faciles à pré-usiner dans de la plaque ou du rond. Les différents éléments sont ensuite assemblés par brasure forte (brasure à l'argent) afin de former des pièces esthétiquement proches de pièces de fonderie à l'ancienne.

C'est le cas pour les glissières, le cylindre et le vilebrequin.
animation glisière
La petite animation montre bien comment est constituée une glissière.
Les différentes pièces constituant une glissière avec les éléments du montage de brasure.
Les rainures sur le socle et la bride permettent de bien aligner les nervures et les pieds.
Sur la deuxième photo, une glissière prête à braser sur son outillage, et le résultat après sablage.
A noter que pour usiner la partie arrondie des deux pieds de glissière, il est conseillé d'utiliser un tour avec un petit montage permettant de bien positionner les deux pièces ensembles. Pour faire simple, les pièces sont soudées à l'étain sur le montage, après usinage il suffira de chauffer pour les séparer. Simple et efficace dans bien des cas.
Le principe d'usinage et de montage est le même pour les blocs cylindre. Bien sûr il faut aussi prévoir un petit montage de maintient afin que toutes les pièces restent bien en position pendant le chauffage et la brasure. Comme pour les glissières, un simple axe avec deux vis et des rondelles sera l'idéal.
Autre astuce pour la construction peut être illustrée par les couvercles des boîtes à vapeur. Ces pièces sont gravées chimiquement avec la même technique que pour la réalisation de circuits imprimés. Les motifs peuvent être appliqués avec des transferts, ou mieux par insolation aux UV, dans ce cas il faut imprimer les motifs sur un transparent et pulvériser une résine photosensible sur les plaques (Positiv 20 par exemple). La gravure se fait avec du perchlorure de fer.
La suite pour bientôt...  
Télécharger
Plans JLS-13-2
Télécharger la liasse de plans PDF.
En voir plus
Moteurs à vapeur
Les autres moteurs à vapeur présentés sur ce site.
Machines outils
Comment construire soi-même ses machines pour usiner les métaux, à voir sur ce site.
machines
Daniel Brouard
Le site personnel de Daniel qui vous dévoile toutes ses techniques d e fabrication, à ne manquer sous aucun prétexte.
Télécharger
Plans du JLS-13-2
Liasse de plans PDF 
En voir plus
Moteurs à vapeur
Les autres moteurs du site
Machines outils
Construire ses machines outils
Daniel Brouard
Techniques de fabrication d'un moteur
Site réalisé avec OpenElement
Date mise à jour  
CARNETS JL-L
Loisirs techniques
Carnets JLS
Top page